- About Us
- Policies and Procedures
- Circulation Policy
As a member of the CAFE consortium, the Hartland Public Library shares a catalog of materials with all CAFÉ member libraries; the CAFÉ consortium currently includes the twenty-four public libraries in Waukesha and Jefferson counties of Wisconsin. Certain policies and limits are determined jointly by the membership of CAFÉ.
Eligibility and Registration for Card
Residents and taxpayers of Waukesha and Jefferson counties, as well as other Wisconsin counties, may apply for a free library card. All applicants under age 18 must have permission and signature of a parent or legal guardian. Legal guardian must provide photo ID. Cards may be issued to children at age 5 and a parent or legal guardian must sign the application form. Children residing in two households will be issued one card.
A photo identification card with a current address is required for all adult applicants. Acceptable forms of proof are:
- Valid Wisconsin Driver’s License
- Wisconsin-Issued State ID
- U.S. Passport
Or, one of the following current items bearing the current address, combined with a photo identification card (which may include a driver’s license) from a school or government agency:
- Residential property tax statement
- Current rent receipt or lease agreement
- Utility bill dated within the last 30 days
- Current bank statement dated within the last 30 days
- Canceled mail postmarked within the last 30 days
- Online invoice or bill, such as a utility bill, presented by applicant on a smartphone, tablet or computer
Library users must present a library card (either physical or on the app) each time materials are borrowed. Library staff may make an exception if a patron verifies their current address by presenting photo identification. Children under 18 can present school ID as a photo ID.
Temporary cards will be given to individuals who are temporarily staying in the area. Individuals will have to give both their local address as well as their home address.
Temporary cards will be good for three months and can be renewed if necessary. Cards will be limited to five checkouts at any given time.
Patrons who do not have a card in the system are able to create a temporary online card. The card will only be good for one month and will have very limited features. Patrons must then come in to the library with proof of their address and photo ID in order to complete their permanent card.
Responsibility of Cardholders
The person to whom a library card is registered, with the exception of minors, is responsible for all items checked out on a card. The holder agrees to obey all of the rules and regulations of the Hartland Public library and any other CAFÉ member libraries which they use, and to promptly pay all fines and charges for overdue materials and lost or damaged items. Items checked out on a minor’s card are the responsibility of the parent or legal guardian.
Library card holders agree to report any change of address, telephone number, or email address to the library, so that they may be contacted about items on hold and about overdue materials.
Library cards have an expiration date of 18 months and must be renewed either by coming in person to the library or calling on the phone and verifying their information.
If a library card is lost or stolen, it is the cardholder’s responsibility to report that to the library. All items checked out prior to the date the card is reported lost are the responsibility of the patron. Library staff are not responsible for assuring that the person who uses a card for borrowing materials is the cardholder or has permission to use that card. A lost/replacement library card can be replaced for $1.00.
Users who check out special collections assume responsibility for any damage done to personal audiovisual equipment during the use of library materials. The library assumes no responsibility for such damage.
Parental Responsibility for Minor’s Use of Card
Items checked out on a minor’s card are the responsibility of the parent or legal guardian. Parents or guardians agree to obey all of the rules and regulations of the library, to promptly pay all fines and charges associated with their child’s library card, and to report any change of contact information to the library.
It is the policy of the library that responsibility for the use of library materials by children rests with their parents and/or legal guardians. Therefore, no borrowing restrictions are placed on children once they have obtained their parent’s signature on the library application.
Renewals and Holds
- Renewals are allowed for all materials except: new books, items with active holds, lucky day items, and special collection items.
- Renewals will be allowed in person, by telephone, through the online catalog, or via the app.
- Holds may be placed on materials in person, over the phone, online, or on the app.
Because due dates vary by item type, users are responsible to check their library account to note when materials are due.
Most items may be renewed up to three times if no other patrons are waiting for those items. Renewals may be made in person at the checkout desk, catalog terminals, by phone, online, or the CAFÉ libraries app.
Renewals are not allowed for certain special collections, including hotspots, Rokus, and passes.
Interlibrary loan materials from outside of the Bridges Library system may not be renewed and are subject to the loan limits placed on the item by the owning institution.
Renewing at a different Bridges Libraries may change fines and the loan period to the renewed library.
Cardholders may have up to 250 items checked out of the library at one time.
Patrons may have up to 125 items on hold at one time.
Late fees are charged for items that are returned after their due date, as a means of encouraging users to return items promptly so that others can use these shared resources. There is a grace period for items check out at the Hartland Public Library. Items returned within 72 hours of the due date will not be charged fines, with the exception of hotspots, Rokus, or passes. However, if items are returned after the 72 hour period, the fine will be charged from the original due date.
Hotspots and Explore Passes = $10.00 a day
Interlibrary Loan (outside of the Bridges System) = $1.00 a day
All other library items = $.10 a day
Email, phone, and text overdue notices are sent as a courtesy only. Failure to receive a reminder, overdue notice, or to verify due dates (through receipts, online account access, app access, or by phoning the library) does not remove the user’s responsibility to return items promptly and pay late fees.
Damaged and Lost Materials
No refunds are given if lost materials are found after having been paid for; the materials become the property of the individual who paid for them.
Damaged or lost items from other libraries will be assessed the fees of the owning library.
Denial of Borrowing Privileges
Borrowing privileges will be denied when a user:
- Has unpaid fines or charges of $10.00 or more
- Is suspended or banned due to any issue as outlined in the Library’s Code of Conduct and/or per the Library Director’s discretion.
Access to Materials in, and Outside of, the Library’s Collection
Users may place holds on items in the CAFÉ catalog and specify that the items be delivered to their library of choice. The CAFÉ catalog is available online, the CAFÉ Libraries App, and as well as in the Library.
Users who do not find exactly what they are looking for with CAFÉ are encouraged to speak with a librarian, who is available to search for materials in other libraries throughout the state. Please note that due dates, fines, and charges for lost/damaged materials from beyond the CAFÉ catalog are set by the owning library.